NZ schools winner chosen

New Zealand’s Ministry of Education has chosen the preferred bidder for a PPP to build four new schools.


The Ministry has chosen Future Schools Partners as the preferred bidder to design, finance, build and maintain four schools. The contract for the project is expected to last 25 years.


The consortium is comprised of Hawkins Group (lead construction), ASC Architects (design), and Programmed (facilities management). The Public Infrastructure Partners Fund, ANZ and Westpac are financing the project.


Three of the schools will be new – Ormiston Junior College in Auckland, Aranui Community Campus and Rolleston Secondary School both in Greater Christchurch. Another will replace an existing school, which will be built in a new location – Wakatipu High School in Queenstown.


Ministry Education Infrastructure Service head, Kim Shannon, said the land and buildings will be owned by the ministry and all educational services will be the responsibility of school principals and boards of trustees.


"We have been working closely with the Establishment Boards of Trustees of all four schools over the last six months, and they have had considerable input to the future shapes of their schools," she said.


The three new schools are scheduled to open in 2017 and Wakatipu High School is due to open at the beginning of 2018.